Log In

Chris Isaak, Speak of the Devil

@ Music Database Search

Chris Isaak, Speak of the Devil CD cover artwork

Chris Isaak, Speak of the Devil

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1666933

Disk length: 44m 57s (14 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1998

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Chris Isaak...

“Speak of the Devil” Tracks & Durations

1. Please 3:34
2. Flying 3:08
3. Walk Slow 3:01
4. Breaking Apart 3:45
5. This Time 3:12
6. Speak Of The Devil 3:30
7. Like The Way She Moves 2:49
8. Wanderin' 2:42
9. Don't Get So Down On Yourself 3:11
10. Black Flowers 2:43
11. I'm Not Sleepy 2:36
12. 7 Lonely Nights 2:09
13. Talkin' 'bout A Home 4:44
14. Super Magic 2000 3:45

Note: The information about “Speak of the Devil” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Chris Isaak rocks? Indeed. Granted, the crooner's latest is no noisy, post-grunge Nirvana (though the chord progression of the opener, "Please," recalls Kurt Cobain's "Heart-Shaped Box"), but Devil does find Isaak loosening up. His gut-busting vocals on the free-for-all title track are as near to reckless as we're ever going to hear him. He's also toughening up, growling around his lower register in the death-inflected "Black Flowers." The backing band Silvertone kicks up its heels as well, most infectiously on the gleefully two-steppin' "I'm Not Sleepy." Of course, Isaak's signature shivery, quivering, and wistful ballads remain. And the singer still has a winning way with an unshakable melody. Armed with guitarist Hershel Yatovitz's poignant picking, only Isaak could turn a tired platitude like "Don't Get So Down on Yourself" into a true tearjerker. --Sue VanHecke

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Chris Isaak - Speak of the Devil

Tracks: 14, Disk length: 44m 57s

Chris Isaak - Speak of the Devil

Tracks: 14, Disk length: 44m 57s

Chris Isaak - Speak of the Devil

Tracks: 19 (+5 tracks), Disk length: 59m 46s (+14m 49s)