Log In

David Ball, Amigo

@ Music Database Search

David Ball, Amigo CD cover artwork

David Ball, Amigo

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1564341

Disk length: 45m 32s (13 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2001

Label: Unknown

View all albums by David Ball...

“Amigo” Tracks & Durations

1. Amigo 3:12
2. Missing Her Blues 3:46
3. She Always Talked About Mexico 3:39
4. Riding With Private Malone 4:35
5. Whenever You Come Back To Me 3:38
6. Loser Friendly 3:41
7. Linger Awhile 3:19
8. Trying Not To Love You 3:42
9. New Shiner Polka 2:47
10. Texas Echo 3:16
11. Swing Baby 2:16
12. Just Out Of Reach 3:46
13. When The Devil Wants To Wrestle 3:48

Note: The information about “Amigo” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


David Ball's 1988 debut was sweet and melodic, complete with yodeling and a beguiling, light-on-its-feet traditionalism. Following his 1994 Top 10 single, "Thinkin' Problem," he wound up lost in the hat-act shuffle, which, had he stuck with it, would probably have destroyed his integrity as it had that of so many others. Amigo returns Ball to his Southwestern roots. The title song, which he co-penned with Kostas, has a '40s feeling that sets the tone for the entire record. Other Ball-authored material is just as fine, particularly "Missing Her Blues," the yodelfest "Texas Echo," and the gutsy gospel of "When the Devil Wants to Wrestle." Ball also includes a masterful interpretation of Merle Haggard's loungy "Trying Not to Love You" and demonstrates his flawless taste in vintage material, recasting the 1920s pop hit "Linger Awhile" as fetching, acoustic-driven Western swing and the classic "Just Out of Reach" as a waltz. He may not be swimming in gold and platinum discs nowadays, but with a package this artistically satisfying under his belt, who cares? --Rich Kienzle