Log In

David Darling, Cello Blue

@ Music Database Search

David Darling, Cello Blue CD cover artwork

David Darling, Cello Blue

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1767326

Disk length: 60m (11 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2001

Label: Unknown

View all albums by David Darling...

“Cello Blue” Tracks & Durations

1. Children 5:52
2. Prayer and Word 5:54
3. Cello Blue 8:11
4. Thy Will "not mine" be done 7:38
5. Serenity 3:58
6. Colorado Blue 3:05
7. Awakening 4:00
8. Morning 7:27
9. Presence 4:00
10. Solitude 3:45
11. Prayer 6:01

Note: The information about “Cello Blue” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


1. Children
2. Prayer And Word
3. Cello Blue
4. Thy Will "not mine" be done
5. Serenity
6. Colorado Blue
7. Awakening
8. Morning
9. Presence
10. Solitude
11. Prayer

Format: CDDavid Darling, the "Lord of Largo," returns with another album of slow-motion melodies and cello textures. Although he's recorded many albums in the interim, this is really a follow-up to 1993's 8-String Religion. That CD, unlike his more austere recordings for ECM, was a highly produced affair, with electronically processed cello, overdubbed with piano, a touch of synthesizer, and some environmental sounds. Cello Blue follows suit as Darling creates a richly sonorous world, full of melancholy and yearning, an interior rumination that opens up into a world of cloud-strewn skies and refracted sunshine. Layering pizzicato cello against languid bowed lines with droplets of piano, Darling creates enveloping soundscapes only occasionally shortchanged by pedestrian synthesizer programming. However, one listen to the serene lullaby of Darling's title track or the delicate pastoral expanse of "Morning," and it's evident that Darling, along with Tim Story and a few others, forms the foundation of ambient chamber music. --John Diliberto