Log In

John Prine, Common Sense

@ Music Database Search

John Prine, Common Sense CD cover artwork

John Prine, Common Sense

Audio CD

Disk ID: 108631

Disk length: 32m 10s (11 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1975

Label: Unknown

View all albums by John Prine...

“Common Sense” Tracks & Durations

1. Middleman 2:33
2. Common Sense 3:12
3. Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard 3:20
4. Wedding Day in Funerville 2:31
5. Way Down 2:24
6. My Own Best Friend 3:16
7. Forbidden Jimmy 2:55
8. Saddle in the Rain 3:34
9. That Close to You 2:47
10. He was in Heaven Before He Died 2:15
11. You Never Can Tell 3:16

Note: The information about “Common Sense” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Atlantic Records' futile attempt to make John Prine a star came to a head with the appearance in 1975 of this bewildering 11-song collection. Stax vet Steve Cropper stepped into the producer's seat with Common Sense, replacing Arif Mardin, who'd helmed Prine's first three releases. Cropper opted for a fuller sound, making liberal use of horns and vocal choruses (Bonnie Raitt and Jackson Browne are among the backup singers). Prine, for his part, responded by penning some of his most obscure lyrics. "Forbidden Jimmy" paints a Cubist portrait of a fellow who "got a mighty sore tooth / From biting too many dimes / In a telephone booth." "Saddle in the Rain" finds the singer imagining God waiting in ambush for him so he can "drink my wine and eat me like a sacrament." Ultimately, even old fans found the likes of "Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard" impenetrable. On the other hand, this might be the Prine album fans of crossword puzzles enjoy the most. --Steven Stolder