Log In

Julian Coryell, Bitter to Sweet

@ Music Database Search

Julian Coryell, Bitter to Sweet CD cover artwork

Julian Coryell, Bitter to Sweet

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1299147

Disk length: 45m 43s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1999

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Julian Coryell...

“Bitter to Sweet” Tracks & Durations

1. Let Me Fall 4:13
2. Lucky 3:54
3. Cheat 3:29
4. Nothing Left To Use 4:32
5. Song For Cynics 3:47
6. Amnesia 4:52
7. Looking For Confessions 2:59
8. Lying 5:24
9. You Couldn't Leave Me If You Tried 3:17
10. Didn't Mean To Be So Mean 2:33
11. Overcome 3:24
12. Everyone's Better Than Me 3:11

Note: The information about “Bitter to Sweet” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Reminiscent of another famous son, Jeff Buckley (offspring of Tim), Julian Coryell (progeny of renowned jazz guitarist Larry Coryell) brings a precocious musicality to the table, veering between string-laden ballads, off-kilter pop, and straight-up guitar rock with dizzying fluidity. Sometimes this kitchen-sink approach creates clutter in the context of a little three-minute ditty such as "Looking for Confessions," but elsewhere, as on the soaring "Lucky," everything falls together in a clever and deeply involving manner. The album's focus, however, is squarely on quirky yet accessible pop. Coryell's esoteric heritage ultimately seems incidental as he treats discerning pop lovers to a delicious musical cornucopia. --Matthew Cooke