Log In

Paul Motian, I Have the Room Above Her

@ Music Database Search

Paul Motian, I Have the Room Above Her CD cover artwork

Paul Motian, I Have the Room Above Her

Audio CD

Disk ID: 193549

Disk length: 59m 58s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2004

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Paul Motian...

“I Have the Room Above Her” Tracks & Durations

1. Osmosis Part III 5:58
2. Sketches 2:35
3. Odd Man Out 4:16
4. Shadows 3:30
5. I Have The Room Above Her 5:34
6. Osmosis Part I 3:30
7. Dance 4:05
8. Harmony 7:08
9. The Riot Act 4:41
10. The Bag Man 5:33
11. One In Three 7:08
12. Dreamland 5:50

Note: The information about “I Have the Room Above Her” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Paul Motian is a sterling example of a musician reaching new heights in their later years. Nearing 75, the drummer and composer continues to explore the innerworkings of the small combo. Frisell and Lovano have worked with him since the beginnings of their careers, decades ago. The interplay of this bass-less trio is remarkably sympathetic, as Frisell's guitar alternates between rhythmic underpinnings and atmospheric flights. There is a buoyancy to the music, whether it's on the gospel structure of "The Bag Man" or the bird-like "Dance" (a piece Motian recorded in the seventies for his album of the same name). The title track is the gorgeous ballad by Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein, and underscores the traditional idioms which have contributed to Motian's unique voice. --David Greenberger