Log In

Rick Nelson, Playing to Win

@ Music Database Search

Rick Nelson, Playing to Win CD cover artwork

Rick Nelson, Playing to Win

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1261956

Disk length: 54m 33s (16 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1981

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Rick Nelson...

“Playing to Win” Tracks & Durations

1. Almost Saturday Night5 2:35
2. Believe What You Say 2:58
3. Little Miss American Dream 4:03
4. The Loser Babe Is You 3:46
5. Back To Schooldays 2:46
6. It Hasn't Happened Yet 3:33
7. Call It What You Want 3:06
8. I Cant Take It No More 3:46
9. Don't Look At Me 2:58
10. Do The Best You Can 4:12
11. No Fair Falling In Love 3:12
12. Give 'Em My Number 3:48
13. Tired of Toeing The Line 3:33
14. Rave On 2:59
15. Doll Hospital 4:05
16. Radio GIrl 3:04

Note: The information about “Playing to Win” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Nearly 10 years after his comeback with the Stone Canyon Band, Rick Nelson's career declined again when he returned to EMI in 1981. Paul McCartney expressed interest in producing the latest effort from the former teen idol, but, due to corporate politics, the album was instead assigned to Phil Spector cohort Jack Nitzsche. Nelson, however, basically produced the sessions himself. Always adept at picking material, he covers rockabilly-derived tunes by the likes of John Fogerty ("Almost Saturday Night"), Graham Parker ("Back to Schooldays"), and John Hiatt. In addition to two Nelson originals, he revives "Believe What You Say." The rerelease is supplemented with six bonus tracks, including a previously unreleased version of Hiatt's "Radio Girl" and Rocky Burnette's "Tired of Toeing the Line." The label refused to release the track and Burnette's own version became a Top 10 hit. --Bill Holdship