Log In

Teenage Fanclub, Songs from Northern Britain

@ Music Database Search

Teenage Fanclub, Songs from Northern Britain CD cover artwork

Teenage Fanclub, Songs from Northern Britain

Audio CD

Disk ID: 667569

Disk length: 43m 24s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1997

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Teenage Fanclub...

“Songs from Northern Britain” Tracks & Durations

1. Start Again 3:11
2. Ain't That Enough 3:42
3. Can't Feel My Soul 3:12
4. I Don't Want Control Of You 3:08
5. Planets 2:50
6. It's A Bad World 4:20
7. Take The Long Way Round 3:25
8. Winter 3:46
9. I Don't Care 3:06
10. Mount Everest 5:15
11. Your Love Is The Place Where I Come From 3:29
12. Speed Of Light 3:52

Note: The information about “Songs from Northern Britain” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Teenage Fanclub were touted as the next big thing for three minutes after its 1991 major-label debut, Bandwagonesque. That album is still the band's best--a sly, effortless approximation of Big Star, capturing most of that band's charm with only a fraction of the emotional turmoil. Six years and a few music trends later, Teenage Fanclub were still writing and singing sunny, optimistic tunes that sound great blasting from a car stereo. Songs from Northern Britain doesn't match the band at its peak, but "Ain't That Enough" is the best Byrds knockoff released in years, and "Start Again" sounds chipper enough to make you believe no romance is too doomed to be saved. The band's three equal songwriters--Norman Blake, Raymond McGinley, and Gerry Love--are all incurable romantics. When written on paper, a lyric like "can't feel my soul without you" is easy to make fun of, but when their voices melt together with obvious feel-good sincerity, only a cynic could complain. --Keith Moerer

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Teenage Fanclub - Songs from Northern Britain

Tracks: 12, Disk length: 43m 23s (-1m 59s)