Log In

The Concretes, Layourbattleaxedown

@ Music Database Search

The Concretes, Layourbattleaxedown CD cover artwork

The Concretes, Layourbattleaxedown

Audio CD

Disk ID: 37110

Disk length: 46m 33s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2005

Label: Unknown

View all albums by The Concretes...

“Layourbattleaxedown” Tracks & Durations

1. Forces 3:40
2. Sugar 3:53
3. Lady December 4:39
4. The Warrior 3:34
5. Miss You 3:50
6. Oh Baby 3:55
7. Sand 2:44
8. Free Ride 3:42
9. Branches 4:42
10. Under Your Leaves 3:26
11. Seems Fine Shuffle 5:16
12. VIDEO 3:04

Note: The information about “Layourbattleaxedown” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Before the Concretes' "Say Something New" became a jingle for those acid-dipped Target commercials, it served as a mission statement for the eight-piece Swedish collective. In their case, saying something new meant taking something old - the Velvet Underground's stark production, the Supremes' lush harmonies, Mazzy Star's highly effective sleeping pills (plus whatever band first popularized the glockenspiel's glocking glockenspiels) - and inverting it with a fuzzy pop twist. Working backward, Layourbattleaxedown compiles most of the early recordings, rarities and b-sides leading up to and around the release of the Concretes' self-titled 2004 album. The melodies may not be as distinct as they are on the proper release but the mood is perfect, all haunting drones, drifting ballads and singer Victoria Bergsman's ice-melting voice. A particular triumph is the mariachi tinged opener, "Forces," followed closely the bewitching "Lady December." Best of all, though, is the cover version of the Rolling Stones disco classic "Miss You," possibly even more subversive and serene than Cat Power's minimalist take on "Satisfaction." --Aidin Vaziri