Log In

The V-Roys, All About Town

@ Music Database Search

The V-Roys, All About Town CD cover artwork

The V-Roys, All About Town

Audio CD

Disk ID: 30395

Disk length: 36m 15s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1998

Label: Unknown

View all albums by The V-Roys...

“All About Town” Tracks & Durations

1. The Window Song 3:33
2. Mary 1:59
3. Amy 88 2:20
4. Arianne 3:27
5. Strange 2:30
6. Hold On To Me 3:14
7. Miss Operator 2:29
8. Testify 2:07
9. Sorry Sue 3:43
10. Over The Mountain 1:59
11. Shenandoah Breakdown 3:10
12. Fade Away 5:37

Note: The information about “All About Town” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


To follow up their debut, Just Add Ice, the V-Roys are thickening the soup. Just Add Ice was a justly heralded debut, rippling with twang and still grit-surfaced enough to give off a post-Replacements feel that pleased the alt-country hordes. All About Town will surely extend the Tennessee foursome's reputation. The laggard tempo and coarse guitars of the CD's opener, "The Window Song," will grab the rock-touched ear (as will the punchy "Strange"), and the following tune, "Mary," snags old-timey country touches with its acoustic ramble and woeful love tale. The V-Roys are great handlers of multipart vocal harmonies, often to offset Miller's occasional desperate-leaning vocal yearnings. What pops up throughout All About Town is a kind of radio-dial-wide array of music that might've all come from the same highway, stretching from an urban alt-rock mecca to a faraway rural sprawl of open space, weekend hoedowns, and retro riffs. Produced by Steve Earle and Ray Kennedy--a.k.a. the twang trust--this episode in the widening of roots aesthetics is blessed with the marks of Earle's earliest works as well as his most recent. --Andrew Bartlett