Log In

Thierry Robin, Gitans

@ Music Database Search

Thierry Robin, Gitans CD cover artwork

Thierry Robin, Gitans

Audio CD

Disk ID: 89940

Disk length: 1h 10m 45s (15 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1993

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Thierry Robin...

“Gitans” Tracks & Durations

1. Leito dje dj 0:16
2. La petite mer 6:54
3. Pundela 4:12
4. Payo michto 2:28
5. Martinetes y debla 7:52
6. Mehdi 8:35
7. Katchur khan 5:07
8. Hommage à Matelo 7:49
9. Cuivre 3:27
10. Kurja 0:41
11. Marraine 4:15
12. Patchîv 8:06
13. La famille 4:21
14. Rumba do vesou 6:14
15. Leito dje dj 0:19

Note: The information about “Gitans” album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


This fine French guitarist and oud player has gathered a delightful group of singers and players to explore the highways and byways of Gypsy music. The sounds of Western and Eastern Europe, of Pakistan and India, and of North Africa all join beautifully on this excellent CD. From out of the east come the memorable female vocalist Gulabi Sapera and tabla maestro Hameed Khan. The powerful flamenco voices of Paco el Lobo and Bruno and Mambo Saadana meld with well-played guitars, oud, accordion, frame drums, palmas, and the occasional clarinet for an inspired and bracing set of tunes. Liner notes in English, French, and Spanish translate lyrics that celebrate life, face death unflinchingly, and speak of the mothers' tears that link this world to the next. --Jeff Grubb