Sponsored Resources

Chris Potter, Gratitude CD cover artwork

Chris Potter, Gratitude

Audio CD

Disk ID: 273537

Disk length: 1h 11m 29s (13 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2001

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Chris Potter...

Tracks & Durations

1. The Source 6:39
2. Shadow 5:50
3. Sun King 8:21
4. High Noon 7:01
5. Euridice 6:02
6. Intro 0:44
7. The Mind's Eye 7:14
8. Gratitude 7:40
9. The Visitor 5:30
10. Body And Soul 3:07
11. Star Eyes 5:26
12. Vox Humana 5:23
13. What's New 2:24

Note: The information about this album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Saxophonist/flutist/bass clarinetist Chris Potter played with a lot of musicians in the 1990s--from Renee Rosnes to Grammy winners Steely Dan. On his first CD for Verve, he's backed by drummer Brian Blade, bassist Scott Colley, and keyboardist Kevin Hays, and the leader pays tribute to the great saxmasters of jazz with his muscular tenor tones and snaky soprano lines. "The Source" is a second-line-tempo take on John Coltrane's "sheets of sound." "Shadow" is a moody look at Joe Henderson, and the "saxophone colossus," Sonny Rollins, is heralded on the Latin-tinged "Sun King." Coleman Hawkins's "Body and Soul" comes courtesy of Potter's bass clarinet, and Ornette Coleman's "Vox Humana" gets an Asian-toned flute treatment. Potter's love letter to his elders is music to our ears. --Eugene Holley Jr.

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.


Tracks: 13, Disk length: 1h 11m 29s


Tracks: 14 (+1 tracks), Disk length: 1h 16m 30s (+5m 1s)

Please note: we do not provide any Chris Potter music downloads, have no any mp3 music including music samples and music ringtones, and can not assist you where to buy music CDs and used CDs. You can search for it on music sites all over the Internet or visit one of our advertisers. We appreciate any ideas and comments about this experimental music database.