Sponsored Resources

State of Bengal, Tana Tani CD cover artwork

State of Bengal, Tana Tani

Audio CD

Disk ID: 657627

Disk length: 1h 19m 3s (13 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2004

Label: Unknown

View all albums by State of Bengal...

Tracks & Durations

1. Moner Manush 5:47
2. Kali 7:55
3. Radha Krishna 4:34
4. Tana Tani 5:18
5. Ram Rahim 5:19
6. Medina 5:33
7. Padma Nodi 5:41
8. Dohal Allah 7:43
9. Bolo Kotai 4:49
10. Kon Ek Pakhi 5:26
11. Al Keuto Sap 6:35
12. Tal Rosh 9:58
13. 13 4:17

Note: The information about this album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


The Bauls are India's divine fools, roving bands of illiterate, mystic-musicians who own only the clothes on their backs and a battered patchwork quilt. They sing for their supper, often espousing Tantra (a discipline that suggests that sacred epiphany can be achieved through sexuality), and then move on. London-based DJ Sam Zaman (aka State of Bengal) encouraged Paban Das Baul, who is accustomed to interpreting 500-year-old texts, to write his own lyrics for the first time and the singer sounds organic and relaxed amid Zaman's sitar-and-bass-heavy, snare-driven chillout milleu. But this is not so extreme a cultural conundrum as it may at first appear. Paban has long since learned to read and now lives in Paris, where he enjoys making art. But despite the change of address, his voice retains its unadorned, sensual purity; it snakes through Zaman's hissing neon wire-knots like a flaming hair from the head of God. --Christina Roden

Please note: we do not provide any State of Bengal music downloads, have no any mp3 music including music samples and music ringtones, and can not assist you where to buy music CDs and used CDs. You can search for it on music sites all over the Internet or visit one of our advertisers. We appreciate any ideas and comments about this experimental music database.