Sponsored Resources

Varnaline, Sweet Life CD cover artwork

Varnaline, Sweet Life

Audio CD

Disk ID: 41327

Disk length: 48m 32s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1998

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Varnaline...

Tracks & Durations

1. Gulf of Mexico 3:46
2. Northern Lights 3:46
3. Now You're Dirt 3:52
4. All About Love 2:50
5. While You Were Sleeping 4:41
6. Saviours 2:57
7. This Is the River 3:32
8. Underneath the Mountain 2:25
9. Fuck & Fight 3:53
10. Mare Imbrium 2:58
11. Tonite 4:18
12. Sweet Life 9:24

Note: The information about this album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Over three albums the trio Varnaline has recalled everyone from Hüsker Dü and Son Volt to Neil Young, with and without the monolithic Crazy Horse. With Sweet Life, though, singer, songwriter, and guitarist Anders Parker and his mates hit their stride with not only their most fully realized effort but also one of the most striking rock releases of 1998. A gorgeous sprawl of downbeat, acoustic-tinged rock, Sweet Life constantly pierces the skin. (Mark Lanegan fans, take note.) The stammering "Now You're Dirt" seethes with the emotion drawn from a son trying to make amends with his dead father; "Northern Lights" lilts with pedal steel and wondrous, stargazing imagery; and the album-closing title track swells with a fusion of chamber music and splashy, bone-crushing rhythms. The sweet life, that song might suggest, is both a state of catharsis and hauntedness. Ditto for this collection. --Neal Weiss

Please note: we do not provide any Varnaline music downloads, have no any mp3 music including music samples and music ringtones, and can not assist you where to buy music CDs and used CDs. You can search for it on music sites all over the Internet or visit one of our advertisers. We appreciate any ideas and comments about this experimental music database.