Sponsored Resources

Violent Femmes, Freak Magnet CD cover artwork

Violent Femmes, Freak Magnet

Audio CD

Disk ID: 1461797

Disk length: 53m 54s (18 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 1985

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Violent Femmes...

Tracks & Durations

1. Hollywood is High 2:22
2. Freak Magnet 2:35
3. Sleepwalkin' 2:21
4. All I Want 3:32
5. New Generation 2:38
6. In The Dark 3:50
7. Rejoice And Be Happy 2:11
8. Mosh Pit 2:13
9. Forbidden 2:59
10. When You Died 2:34
11. At Your Feet 2:51
12. I Danced 2:43
13. I'm Bad 2:42
14. Happiness Is 4:18
15. A Story (featuring Pierre Henry) 5:01
16. Rejoice and be Happy (live) 2:23
17. Freak Magnet (live) 2:35
18. Positvely 4th Street (live) 3:55

Note: The information about this album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Formed in the early 1980s, the Violent Femmes and their folky, quirky, acoustic-driven take on power pop gained them a reputation as the freakish cousins of the then-massive new-wave movement. It also gave them quite a huge following, especially after the success of their debut. Their formula was simple: Gordon Gano's adenoidal whine and offbeat lyrics coupled with Brian Ritchie's frenzied acoustic bass and a simple, stripped down drum kit. Almost two decades later, their formula really hasn't changed much; Freak Magnet couldn't really have been performed by anyone other than the Violent Femmes. Gordon Gano still knows how to write great pop songs, and "Hollywood Is High," "Sleepwalkin'," or "New Generation" could have easily appeared on any previous Violent Femmes release. Freak Magnet is not the sound of a band maturing or exploring a new sound or even expanding on an old one; rather, it's the sound of a band comfortably within its element. After the feeble effort of 1994's New Times, Freak Magnet is a fantastic return to form. --Robert Burrow

Other Versions

Albums are mined from the various public resources and can be actually the same but different in the tracks length only. We are keeping all versions now.

Freak Magnet

Tracks: 15 (-3 tracks), Disk length: 44m 59s (-9m 5s)

Freak Magnet

Tracks: 15 (-3 tracks), Disk length: 44m 57s (-9m 3s)

Freak Magnet

Tracks: 14 (-4 tracks), Disk length: 36m 53s (-18m 59s)

Please note: we do not provide any Violent Femmes music downloads, have no any mp3 music including music samples and music ringtones, and can not assist you where to buy music CDs and used CDs. You can search for it on music sites all over the Internet or visit one of our advertisers. We appreciate any ideas and comments about this experimental music database.