Sponsored Resources

Warsaw Village Band, Uprooting CD cover artwork

Warsaw Village Band, Uprooting

Audio CD

Disk ID: 25967

Disk length: 43m 14s (16 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2004

Label: Unknown

View all albums by Warsaw Village Band...

Tracks & Durations

1. Roots: Józef Lipi´nski 0:19
2. In the Forest 3:31
3. Woman in Hell 2:48
4. At the Front of the Gates 3:31
5. Polka from Sieradz region 2:17
6. Matthew 2:34
7. Roots: Janina Zdrzalik 0:35
8. Let`s Play, Musicians 4:14
9. The Owl 4:43
10. Grey Horse [intro: Kazimierz Zdrzalik] 3:41
11. Roots: Kapela Mariana Pelki 0:37
12. When Johnny Went to Fight in the War 2:47
13. Lament 2:32
14. I Slayed the Rye 4:14
15. Roots: Kazimierz Zdrzalik 0:46
16. Fishie 3:56

Note: The information about this album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


Most listeners probably associate the words "Eastern European Folk Music" with klezmer, polka, and just about nothing else, but that may change after listening to the Warsaw Village Band's Uprooting, which in its sometimes gut-wrenching juxtaposition of ancient Polish instruments like the hurdy-gurdy and dulcimer with modern DJ scratches and trance beats is somehow both more traditional and more futuristic than the group's debut, People's Spring released in 2002. Devoted to updating Polish folk music, on Uprooting the band teams up with several traditional Polish folklorists who contribute some short interludes ("Janina Zdrzalik" and "Josef Lipinski") that make portions of the disc sound like the Polish equivalent of early American field recordings. But the band's skill is in blending these traditional Polish musical elements so seamlessly into their own compositions, which use a striking half-screamed vocal style called "white singing," cello and szuka (a small Polish violin) along with sometimes dirge-like drumming. "Women In Hell" manages to sound trance-inducing in both the ancient and modern sense of that word, while "Let's Play, Musicians" is a beautiful cello-based ballad and "When Johnny Went to Fight in the War" marries Polish folk music with Tom Waits-ish trip-hop. Overall, Uprooting proves that at least in the Warsaw Village Band's hands, the meeting of ancient and modern isn't so much a collision as it is cause for celebration. --Ezra Gale

Please note: we do not provide any Warsaw Village Band music downloads, have no any mp3 music including music samples and music ringtones, and can not assist you where to buy music CDs and used CDs. You can search for it on music sites all over the Internet or visit one of our advertisers. We appreciate any ideas and comments about this experimental music database.