Sponsored Resources

John McVey, Gone To Texas CD cover artwork

John McVey, Gone To Texas

Audio CD

Disk ID: 755254

Disk length: 1h 3m 58s (12 Tracks)

Original Release Date: 2002

Label: Unknown

View all albums by John McVey...

Tracks & Durations

1. Mexican blackbird 5:46
2. I don't stutter 5:01
3. House on fire 4:36
4. Crusin' for a bruisin' 4:50
5. Gone to Texas 8:00
6. Sweet little upsetter 4:53
7. Shadows in my room 5:52
8. Whuppit 4:19
9. Baby one more kiss 3:15
10. Call my job 4:12
11. Don't throw your love on me so strong 6:26
12. My baby's tired of working 6:40

Note: The information about this album is acquired from the publicly available resources and we are not responsible for their accuracy.


My take on John McVey is pretty straightforward: He greas'd his skillet & lit his fire in Little Rock, Arkansas and moved to Austin, Texas and cook'd. Starting out with Blues great Larry Davis and literally playing in "buckets of blood" on Little Rock's north and east sides, John noted: "You just had to play like you were going to fight somebody." He hung in there, gigging with Fenton Robison and former Earl Hooker vocalist Frank "Crying Shame" Clark. One evening, Albert King told a blues crowd, "Slim plays just like me. Trouble is, I'M Albert King!" John paid attention and started to develop his own sound. His Arkansas funk, playing-from-the-gut guitar stylings were further enhanced when Larry Davis turned him on to the classic recordings of Earl Hooker and Magic Sam. Moving to (Gone to) Austin, Texas in '86, John began working at the Continental Club and at Antone's with Hook Herrera and the Hitchhikers, which included Alex Napier and Mike Buck. Having already! travel'd overseas with Larry Davis' "Blues with the Girls" tour, he also tour'd nationwide and internationally, first with Paul Orta and then with Lavelle White. John and I first crossed paths in the early '90s, when he came through Wichita, Kansas, backing up Harmonica Man Lewis Cowdrey. Since then I've "Gone To Texas" myself and, living in Ft. Worth, get a chance a couple times a year to hear John and his group, the Stumble, smoke the house down in Ft. Worth at J.&J.'s Blues Bar or down at Joe`s Generic Bar or Babe's on 6th Street in Austin. For his "Gone To Texas" CD, John enlisted the aid of Austin's finest from producer Derek O'Brien on down, with Blues "Goners" like Mike Buck, Barry "Frosty" Smith, Larry Fulcher, Joel Guzman, Riley Osborne and Kim Wilson laying it on the line.Ê All of the "Gone To Texas" cuts have a funky-tone-feel that oughta suit you to a tee. In early 200l I started praying fervently to have a new CD on my turntable that would satisfy my insatiable Blues listening lust. Thanks to John Mcvey and "Los Gone Ones," my prayers have been answered. Wes Race Blues Spectator At Large

Please note: we do not provide any John McVey music downloads, have no any mp3 music including music samples and music ringtones, and can not assist you where to buy music CDs and used CDs. You can search for it on music sites all over the Internet or visit one of our advertisers. We appreciate any ideas and comments about this experimental music database.